RSS

Weekly Wine

02 Aug

My disclaimer: I am, by no means, a wine snob. I am perfectly happy with a bottle of Arbor Mist.

Over the past few years of our life together, my husband and I have amassed a collection of wine that we have been given as gifts or picked up on a special trip somewhere. We keep saving these for “special occasions” but never seem to have an occasion special enough to open one of these bottles of wine. We have decided that instead of waiting for special occasions that we will open a bottle of wine each Friday night and enjoy it.

I’m excited about this for many reasons. First of all, it’s a great way to unwind each Friday night as I don’t get out much and if we had a reason to go somewhere we’d skip the wine opening or do it Saturday instead. The chances of me having plans both nights on a weekend are slim to none. I prefer to stay in on Friday nights anyway and do the heavy partying (yeah right) on Saturdays instead. I am an extremely responsible, rule-abiding, by the book person. I would not drink and drive and enjoy my adult beverages responsibly.

That brings me to the second reason. As a teacher, I’m usually really beat by Friday night. When I lived on my own (many moons ago) I would come home, clean the apartment, take a bath by candlelight, and crash. In the three years Jeff and I have been married I have probably taken a bath three out of about 160 Friday nights. What’s better than a glass of wine and a bath? That’s just double the relaxation! I can make a point of this whole relaxing on Friday night thing.

Thirdly, I love patterns and symmetry. It starts with Friday wine and next it will be Monday meatloaf and Tuesday tacos. I could plan a week and just rotate meals every seven days…. Hmnn.

Lastly, I’m tired of waiting for special occasions to enjoy things. Why not live life to its fullest right now?

Winery: Stone Hill

Type: Golden Rhine

Grade: B (this teacher doesn’t give out A’s lightly!)

Where we got it: From Mary’s parents at Christmas 2008

Comments: Sweet, but a little dry.

wine1

I realize that wine glass is huge, and probably not really a wine glass, more like a water glass at a restaurant fancier than I usually am able to afford, but I’m ok with a big wine glass. Less refills.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2009 in Mary's Entries

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Weekly Wine

  1. MOM

    August 4, 2009 at 9:52 am

    THIS IS REALLY GREAT – AND YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT! ENJOY LIFE TO THE FULLEST AND WINE NIGHT FRIDAYS SOUND JUST GREAT – HMMM – YOU GAVE ME AN IDEA FOR CHRISTMAS!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
