RSS

Prepping for School and Other Normal Stuff

15 Aug

This week was uneventful, yet productive. My classroom is almost ready, so next week I can really dig into curriculum and figure out what I am going to do for novels and social studies. I took all of my math things down and gave some of them to the 7th and 8th grade teacher who is teaching 5th and 6th grade math while I teach 7th and 8th English and spelling. I have my spelling and memory work lists done for the year and also know which stories I’m doing with 5th and 6th grade every week for the year. I’m miles ahead of where I was a year ago, and it feels so good!
Something else that feels really good is that Jeff and I have done a really good job of keeping the house straightened up. It is such a good feeling to come home to a clean house!
I’ve gone to the gym M-F for four weeks in a row now. I’m pretty impressed with myself for getting up early to do this. I hope I can manage to keep it up when school starts. I think I’ll have to get up 45 minutes earlier than I have been since teachers have been back at school. That’s really not so bad at all. I should come up with a non-food reward for when I make it to the six-week mark. That would bring me through the first week of school. Any ideas?
We have a pretty busy weekend this weekend. Tonight we have a wedding reception for one of Jeff’s coworkers, and tomorrow is our school picnic/parent orientation.
This week’s Friday Wine
Winery: Blumenhof
Type: Goldblumen ( a dessert wine)
Where we got it: We did a wine tasting when we went with my bro and sis-in-law and choose it
Grade: B- Extremely sweet, didn’t taste how I remembered it from the tasting, but it had been two years since we’d bought it. Maybe we shouldn’t wait so long next time!
downsized_0814092123

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 15, 2009 in Mary's Entries

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Prepping for School and Other Normal Stuff

  1. Kay

    August 18, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    I don’t know if these ideas are any good, but here are a few ideas for non-food rewards: getting your nails done (or toenails), taking a long bubble bath, buying/borrowing a good book and reading it, going to the library and just sitting and reading, buying any new article of clothing, or renting a good movie. Hope you think of something good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
