RSS

A Stressful Friday

21 Aug

Today was a rather stressful day. School starts next Tuesday, and I have a lot I need to get accomplished. Yesterday and today the principal was out of town, so another teacher and I had to pick up a lot of her slack. Every time I tried to start something, I was interrupted. It took me an hour and a half to get back to my lunch after I heated it up. I was running around like a chicken with no head for 80% of my day. That is not a feeling I like to have. When I make a list, I like to knock things off of it, not do a thousand things that aren’t on it.

My Friday wine could not have come at a better time!
On a positive note, my classroom is looking great. Thanks to help from my friend Melissa, who came and helped a lot on Thursday, it is really starting to come together! The posters are up neatly on the wall and everything seems pretty symmetrical and tidy. I have a few things left to do in my desk and shelf area to make it fabulous and then I’ll post some pictures.

I did have a little luck shopping after school for books. I still need about 17 copies of The Outsiders, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life, Schooled, Hattie Big Sky, and Elijah of Buxton. These are all fairly new books and aren’t easy to find at the Half Price Books stores that I like to frequent.

I’m still up in the air about if I want to teach A Wrinkle in Time or not, I have never read it. Does anyone have thoughts on this? I’m also still thinking about Johnny Tremain. And still looking for other options! Always!
Also, a play based on the book Frindle by Andrew Clements is coming to KC late next spring. I am going to work that in somehow, a really quick read for my 7th and 8th graders and a lit circle option for my 5th and 6th graders. It’s always fun to see a play or movie about a book you’ve read, even though the book is usually better.
Thanks to Kay for some good ideas of non-food rewards for going the gym. I made it this week again! One day I went and they were closed (I guess the guy who was supposed to open overslept) so I walked by our house and went that night instead. Next week is going to be a lot tougher because I’ll have to get up earlier and be on a tighter time schedule, but I can do it! At least if I miss the morning I have the evening as an option.
Ok, enough of my rambling for now!
Here’s this week’s Friday Wine:
Winery: ?? Somewhere in California
Type: Red Table Wine
Where we got it: From my cousin Sandy when we met her out east this summer. She took us out for the best crab cakes in the world and gave us this bottle of wine that she got at a winery in California when she was visiting her son and daughter in law.
Grade: A for a red wine!
wine3

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2009 in Mary's Entries

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “A Stressful Friday

  1. jeffandmary

    August 21, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    My underlines of book titles didn’t show up! Oh no!

     
  2. Bonnie Finke

    August 21, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Hey Mary – I had the same type of day. I was at school from 7am to 5pm and accomplished very little.

    You’re right about reading a book then watching a movie. Last year my 4th graders read Trumpet of the Swan and then watched the movie. One of them commented that the movie was better when she just had it in her head.

     
  3. Jeremy

    August 24, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Welcome to my world. Unless I close my office door, I can easily pass two or three hours by just having people come in to “chat”. Or even if my door is closed the phone will ring at least five times day. That’s life. better yet, that’s ministry.

    Peace

     
  4. MOM

    August 28, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Sounds like everyone’s life is hectic and too fast-paced!! How about if we all take a deep breath – thank God that we are all still breathing- and praise Him for every breath he has given us — then we can hunker down and get back to work!!! I’m waiting for Friday night wine night on Saturday or Sunday when we come – we might even bring a bottle of wine along from Stonehill Winery since they have a sale while we are there.

    Mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
