RSS

CSA Week 1

10 Jul
One of the things I miss the most about the farm is the garden and the fresh vegetables and sweet corn abounding all summer long. Here in Kansas, we don’t have good soil for gardening in our yard, at all. We have two big maple trees that suck all the nutrients and moisture so our soil is hard and the yard is always shady.

Our loot for the week

So, this year I decided to join the Community Supported Alliance (CSA) at our local grocery store. Basically, you pay a small fee to sign up and say you will pick up at least five things of what they grow each Saturday for ten weeks. If we’re out of town we just notify them we won’t be coming in that week. CSA-ers also get a reusable bag with a tag to go on it, a hat, and a mini-cookbook with recipes using the produce.
We won’t know what is at the market from week to week, but it will come from five local farms. The weekly fee is $15. Another bonus of doing this each week is that we’ll have lots of fresh fruits and veggies on hand!
Here’s what I got this week with my $15.

Three Peppers

Nine Peaches

Six Tomatoes

Three Zucchini

Eight Ears of Sweet Corn

Some of the other things that were available were eggplant, fresh basil, cantaloupe, watermelon, onions, beets, yellow squash, some canned vegetables and jams, and apple cider.

I’m not sure how great of a deal I got this week. If I would have bought all of these same fruits and vegetables, but the ones that were on sale (not locally grown) in the grocery store itself, I’m guessing it would have been about the same price, maybe even slightly less. However, if I would have purchased these same locally grown products at the prices listed at the store, it would have cost me over $20. The market is also open to the public, so prices are listed by each thing. Next week I will keep track of the difference.

Since I’m out of wine to write about, I decided I’m going to document my CSA experience and evaluate if it is worth the price or not. I am willing to pay more to support small local farmers, for sure, and especially if the quality is better and fresher.

I’ll keep you updated on what I make with our produce, as well! Tonight I made BLTs and sweet corn and it was delicious! The corn was (almost) as good as Dad’s fresh from the field! That alone, to me, makes this week a win!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “CSA Week 1

  1. Holly

    July 10, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    That meal sounds pretty good. Especially the sweet corn. I’m hoping I can get up to your parent’s house when their corn is ready. I haven’t had it in so long 😦

     
  2. christina

    July 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I’m very interested to hear the results of your experiment. I’d love to hear what the prices of individual items are compared to your grocery store prices.

     
  3. Gina

    July 12, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Mmmm…corn. We’ve been grilling corn on the cob the past few nights, and I was just talking to someone about how I miss the smell of corn fields!

     
  4. Kay

    July 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

    We had corn on the cob this weekend, too. Stryker loves it, but he almost refused to eat a half a cob. He only likes it on the full cob.

     

Leave a Reply

 
