RSS

CSA Week 2

17 Jul

This week all of the same items were available at the CSA.  The prices I’m listing are if someone walked off the street and bought the same things I did. I paid $15 for it. ($16.32 with tax)

Watermelon- $4.00

Peppers- $4.00

Corn- $4.00

Heirloom Tomatoes- $7.00

Peaches- $5.00

Total: $24.00

That’s a savings of $9 this week! Good deal! If I calculate correctly (Remember- I don’t teach math anymore! hehe) That’s a savings of 37.5%.

I can’t wait to cut in to this watermelon!

image

I’m thinking fajitas with the peppers this week, we’ll see!image

I hope the sweet corn is as good as it was last week! It was pre-packaged instead of being about to pick out your own ears from the bin this time. I wasn’t too thrilled about that. To me that says that it’s less fresh. Hopefully I’m wrong. image

What to do with heirloom tomatoes? Hmnn…image

This week there were 11 peaches in the container instead of nine. They are still a little hard, so when they ripen a little bit they’ll be really yummy.

image

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “CSA Week 2

  1. jeffandmary

    July 18, 2010 at 12:06 am

    I made the sweet corn tonight, it was just as delicious as last time.

     
  2. Gina

    July 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Jon and I stayed at your parents’ farm the summer of 2005, and Jon STILL talks about the sweet corn!

     

Leave a Reply

 
