RSS

Misc.

20 Jul

So I started writing about Grandma and Grandpa Finke and I have so many memories. Once I started writing things down, more and more would come to me. I think it will take me a few more days to edit and consolidate.

So I had to throw away two of the peaches today. What am I doing wrong? All of our fruits and vegetables don’t last more than a day or two. The peaches were hard on Saturday when I brought them home, perfect on Sunday, and by Monday night starting to get mushy. Has anyone bought those green bags that claim to keep produce fresh? Maybe I should get those.

I read somewhere that you should store fruits and vegetables at home how they are displayed at the store. Maybe I shouldn’t listen and put everything in the fridge. Suggestions, anyone?

Here’s a picture of a tomato mozzarella dish that I made with the heirloom tomatoes. Good stuff! Fresh mozzarella was on sale, this is the first time I’ve bought fresh mozzarella since I lived in Jersey. It was good with the fresh, but I decided I like it just as much with the cheap mozzarella you can buy in a block. It tastes better than it looks! I should have taken the picture before putting the dressing on.

Tomato, basil, and mozzarella with dijon mustard vinaigrette, serve with crackers!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Misc.

  1. Gina

    July 21, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    We sell the Debbie Meyer Green Bags at Bed Bath and Beyond. I’ve heard VERY good things about them, but I haven’t tried them myself.

     
  2. Kay

    July 22, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I have the opposite problem with most of our peaches, pears, and kiwi. If I buy them hard, they take forever to ripen, even if I put them in a brown paper bag. If I keep them in the fridge, they stay hard.
    Also, I really want to hear/read your memories of Grandma and Grandpa Finke. I don’t have too many, but maybe yours could refresh my memory. Mostly, I just remember that Grandma Finke always kept those candy orange slices in that bowl that you now have, and that Grandpa made us those little red sleds out of popsicle sticks for Christmas.

     

Leave a Reply

 
