RSS

CSA Week 4 plus blueberries!

01 Aug

This week, same stuff at the CSA, except they had red peppers, so I got a few of those. I traded the peaches for cantaloupe… and I only took one picture.

Peppers- $3

Zucchini- $3

Watermelon- $6

Cantaloupe- $3

Tomatoes- $4

So this week, I really only saved $4.00. I feel like I’m getting stuff I need to find stuff to do with.

In more exciting (?) news, blueberries were on sale for mucho cheap this week- $6.88 for five pounds. I couldn’t pass this up. I got a box, and I had blueberries with yogurt on a few times, I made blueberry muffins, and froze a bunch. Here’s the process.

First I washed the blueberries in small batches.

Then I paid them on cookie sheets to dry off. I picked out all the icky ones and got rid of any stems that were left on.

When they were mostly dry I put them in the freezer for an hour or so.

Then I popped them off the pan and into a ziploc bag that I kept in the freezer in between batches.

It was so easy, I went and bought another box. I have two almost full gallon ziplocs that I can take out as many blueberries as I want at a time. I did the same thing with strawberries this spring, except I sliced those.

We’ll use them for smoothies, muffins, pancakes, etc. Here’s a pic of some muffins I made with the fresh ones. After I made these, I made a batch of mini-muffins and froze them for lunches, too. Yum-o!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “CSA Week 4 plus blueberries!

  1. christina

    August 1, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    That’s a great price on the blueberries. I usually can’t find them for less than $1.50/pint. Hopefully I’ll find that good of a deal before the summer’s over so I can freeze a bunch. Gabriel loves blueberries – especially in his yogurt.

     
  2. Kay

    August 2, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Could you send me your blueberry muffin recipe? They look great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
