RSS

CSA Week 5- Something new!

07 Aug

This week I really switched things up and bought a few things I wouldn’t normally buy.

Clockwise from top- zuchinni, casaba melon, okra, seedless red raspberry jam, peaches

I bought a casaba melon, which is kind of a cross between a honeydew and cantaloupe. It was marked at $6. Here is what it looks like cut up.

I bought okra, which I have never cooked with before. I only tried deep fried okra at college once. It was not great. But I saw a basket and thought I’d try it on my own. The basket of okra was marked at $7. I’m cooking it as I type with tomatoes and onion. We’ll have it tonight with rice and chicken. Here is what it looks like right now, a little steamy.

I went back to the peaches, they were $4 this week.

I picked out a jar of seedless red raspberry jam, which I sampled after I took the picture on a pb and j sandwich. Yummy! It was $4.

I also bought zucchini again this week and since I still had some left from last week, I shredded it all and froze five cups of it. I thought about baking a bunch of bread or muffins but it’s 95-100 degrees here right now. I decided against it and figured I’d wait until it cools off a little bit. I also don’t have any applesauce, and I want to use that in place of oil to make healthier stuff. I also might get whole wheat flour instead of white. The zucchini was priced at $4.

So, a totally new experience with the okra and casaba melon, which is part of the reason I signed up for the CSA anyway, so I’m glad there was some newer items this time. All in all, I saved $10 by being a part of the CSA.

We’re heading to MN on Thursday night and coming back Saturday night, so we won’t get any CSA items next week. I will try to post my entry about Grandma and Grandpa Finke’s house later this week.

Also, Jeff and I have decided not to have any sweetened (artificially or naturally) beverages for the month of August and I made it through the first week pretty easily. So, this is what I’ve been drinking a lot of. It is a lot more fun to drink out of a fancy glass.

water with lemon

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “CSA Week 5- Something new!

  1. Kay

    August 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I’ve been using whole wheat flour for about 2 years now. I think it’s great in bread – I don’t even notice the difference in zucchini bread, banana bread, etc. But it does seem to make muffins heavier, and Keith doesn’t like me making “healthy” cookies, so I went back to white flour for those. They do taste better with white flour.

     
  2. Gina

    August 9, 2010 at 9:35 am

    The water looks so refreshing. Mmmm…

     
  3. Mom

    August 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I have a bag of key limes so that will be our beverage when you are here – I have been cutting one in half and putting it in a glass of water and I really like it

     
  4. larryfinke

    August 12, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Okra is God’s joke on humanity. Why would anyone eat a fuzzy vegetable?

     

Leave a Reply

 
