RSS

CSA Week 7

21 Aug

Jeremy added a bunch of comments on past posts about family, if you haven’t seen those.

I was rather disappointed in the choices at the CSA this week. There were peaches, onions, peppers, tomatoes, watermelon, and sweet corn to choose from.

We brought a whole bunch of veggies from my mom and dad’s garden home last weekend. We’ve eaten lots of sweet corn, I made two batches of stuffed peppers with my own tomato sauce, had grape tomatoes with our lunches every day, and have tons of onions and a bunch ofpotatoes waiting for something to be made soon. Since many of these things were the things available at the CSA, I didn’t really know what to get. Here’s what I did.

The red and green peppers were $3 each, the tomatoes were $5, the watermelon was $3, and the apple cider was $7. The total without the CSA would have been $21. I paid $15.

I made pico de gallo with the two of the tomatoes and some jalapeños and onions from Mom.

We’re having fajitas tonight and sausage and peppers tomorrow, so that should take care of the peppers. Now I need to figure out what to do with the rest of the tomatoes.

We’re still on our water only kick, so we will save the cider until later in fall. The expiration date on the bottle says it is good until the end of January. Drinking water only really hasn’t been that hard. I’ve had plain, unsweetened iced tea twice and I would rather have plain water, so that’s what I’ve been doing. I miss coffee drinks much more than I miss diet coke.

Next week should be the last week of the CSA. We’ll see if there is more of a variety for the last week. Somehow, I’m doubtful.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “CSA Week 7

  1. christina

    August 21, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    That pico de gallo looks so yummy!

     
  2. Gina

    August 23, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I wanted to take a picture of our peaches that we got from a farmer…I thought of you.

     
  3. Jeffrey

    August 28, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    PICO……DE………GALLLLLLLLOO

     

Leave a Reply

 
