RSS

A Sad Week

27 Aug

I don’t think I can write another post without addressing something that’s been on my mind and heart the last few days.

My brother’s best friend, Darin, died this week. If you want to read about the circumstances you can do so here or here, but I would rather focus on his life.

I knew Darin as Jer’s best friend, and a great guy to be around. I first met him when Jer was in the seminary. I don’t know when I first met Darin, but I do know he was around quite a bit when I would go to visit Jeremy and Karin. It was nice be around him because to most of Jer’s friends I was probably just Jer’s kid sister. Darin, probably because he didn’t know me until I was (almost) an adult, treated me like a friend. Darin had a great sense of humor and seemed to have a knack for making people laugh.

At Jer and Karin’s wedding, we had a lot of fun being goofy and dancing to polkas. One summer, probably about nine years ago, Darin joined our family on vacation for a few days. I will never forget staying up so late playing board games that we couldn’t even see the cards in our hand straight. My cheeks hurt from laughing so much at all the jokes that were being cracked around the table that night. It’s one of my favorite family vacation memories.

I hadn’t seen Darin for years, but remember him very fondly. I would hear about what he was up to through Karin and Jer. I was so happy to learn that he was married and had seen a few pictures of his adorable, and I mean ADORABLE, twin daughters.

While I am really sad about our loss here on earth and the long-lasting effect Darin’s death will have on his family and friends, I have comfort and peace knowing that he is in heaven making everyone there roll with laughter and participating in the joy that comes from knowing our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “A Sad Week

  1. Bonnie

    August 27, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Mary, it’s been on my mind also. I am so sorry and I keep praying for his family. I’m glad you wrote about it.

     
  2. Kathy

    August 28, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Mary, I am so sorry. This touches so many of us because he was so young and leaves his precious family. It really touches me because of his chosen profession. Won’t be much longer till my Casey leaves for the seminary. His family and friends are in my prayers. Thank you for sharing about his life. God’s Peace

     
  3. marla

    August 31, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    I am so sorry! God’s Peace and love be with you..

     
  4. Mom

    September 2, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Mary – Your thoughts and words about Darin were wonderful. He was a special person and I will always remember his smile and his sense of humor. My heart aches for his family and also for Jeremy and Karin who lost a dear friend. Thank you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
