RSS

CSA Week 8

29 Aug

I think this was the last week of the CSA. This week I got a watermelon. It was much better than last week’s watermelon, by far. We also got a basket of peaches, which I peeled and froze, a basket of peppers, and two baskets of tomatoes. I had some tomatoes from last week and a few a student had given me left, so I used those and one of the peppers to make spaghetti sauce. The roma tomatoes definitely worked better for that than the other ones, so I’ll have to remember that next time I make sauce. I didn’t look at the prices of stuff this week, but I’m confident I saved a few bucks.

If this is indeed the last week, which, if I’m counting correctly, it should be, I will write up a summary of the experience next week. I’m pretty up in the air about if I should do it next year or not.

image

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “CSA Week 8

  1. Gina

    August 30, 2010 at 9:37 am

    The food always looks so good! Try grilling the peaches with a little brown sugar. We did it last weekend, and they turned out great!

     
  2. Tammy McLeod

    August 30, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I just posted an awesome peach recipe and Smitten Kitchen has some great tomato recipes. Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
