RSS

CSA Thoughts and The End of Drink Challenge

04 Sep

Earlier this week I got an email reminder about pick-up for the CSA. I thought, “Hmn, I guess I could have counted wrong,” and a few hours later got an email titled “Urgent Retraction” stating that they forgot it was over last week.

I have really mixed feelings about if I would do the CSA again next year.

  • All-in-all it cost $120 plus tax. I wonder how much I could get for $15 per week if I choose from the variety inside instead. It appears the high volume of the shipped-in produce causes the prices to be lower than the locally grown stuff.
  • I bought the same things over and over. The only “new” things I bought were okra, which I probably wouldn’t buy again, and casaba melon. I would buy the melon again if it was on sale.
  • Our produce tasted great, but we had to use it fast if we wanted it to stay fresh. Normally we would space out the buying of our produce a little more. I tried not to waste anything, but we still ended up not getting to finish some things before they went bad.
  • I was able to make things to put in the freezer for the future: spaghetti sauce, okra and tomatoes, peaches, zucchini. (Some of the tomatoes I used for spaghetti sauce were from my mom and dad, though.)
  • Knowing that the selection dwindled toward the last weeks, I would probably have chosen more variety in the first weeks while selection was more assorted.
  • Getting different veggies on Saturdays helped us to eat healthier and to plan a menu based on what we had from the CSA.
  • I love fall fruits and veggies, too. I almost wish it had gone longer or started later so we could get apples and butternut squash and pumpkin and that kind of thing.
  • Today is Saturday; guess how many fresh fruits veggies are in the house? Uh, that would be zero.
  • Kansas is the Sunflower State. Were there sunflower seeds available? No, sir!

Jeff’s thoughts:

  • It was cool but he thought they would have a wider variety of less common produce that is grown in Kansas.
  • He wishes papaya was grown in Kansas so we could have gotten papaya there. (I think he was being funny. Sometimes I can’t tell.)

Tuesday was the last day of our non-sweetened drinks challenge. Both Jeff and I made it through without “cheating” and it wasn’t all that bad. I only had water or milk during the month of August. I did have unsweetened tea twice. There were a few days I really wanted a Diet Coke or a coffee drink. I had some bad headaches at the beginning of August that I’m not sure were due to caffeine withdrawal, artificial sweetener withdrawal, or stress, but I haven’t had any headaches in the last two weeks, even though things have been a little more stressful than normal. On Wednesday, I had iced tea sweetened with a teaspoon of sugar and on Thursday I had a regular Coke. The challenge was a good experience, and one that will make me think twice before I automatically grab a diet or sugary drink.

Our September challenge is only having 6 ounces of meat per day, which won’t be a problem for me- Jeff is a much bigger meat-eater than I am. We are also going to only go out to eat once a week which should be fairly easy to manage. We make excuses to pick up stuff for dinner a lot. I just need to be more on top of planning our menu and prepping everything I can ahead of time. It won’t really work for us if we go to Jer and Karin’s in September, which is possibly in the works, but no date is set yet.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “CSA Thoughts and The End of Drink Challenge

  1. Bonnie

    September 4, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Let me know how that menu planning goes. I really struggle with meals during the school year and I don’t do all the cooking. Larry and Holly each do a meal. By the time Saturday comes, my mind is so full of stuff, I can’t even get a grocery list ready so the shopping event is usually pretty random. I would like to have meals prepared ahead of time, but then my whole weekend is taken up with cooking, cleaning, and laundry.

     
  2. Tammy McLeod

    September 7, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I love the way the two of you do challenges. My dh and I are challenging each other on the scales right now – just a slow one or two pounds a week (1 for me and 2 for him) and if one of us doesn’t make it, we pay the other.

     
  3. christina

    September 9, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I really enjoyed your summary of the CSA. I’ve thought about doing something like that, but I think we would end up wasting a lot of it because we wouldn’t eat it fast enough.

     

Leave a Reply

 
