RSS

Thanksgiving Week

21 Nov

Well, let the busy holiday season begin! We had a pre-holiday party hosted by one of my coworkers this weekend. We’re having Jeff’s family over on Thursday, Jer, Karin, Cara, and Gus are coming over Friday to Saturday. Next weekend we head to MN on Friday night for a wedding all day Saturday and we’ll return on Sunday. The weekend after that we have another party. The weekend after that we have our Christmas program and staff Christmas party and Jeff wants to host our own holiday party that day, and finally, it will be Christmas.

And this is only what we have planned so far.

This week, more specifically, I have school Monday and Tuesday. Tuesday night there is a congregational meeting, so I’m planning on staying late to finish school stuff and then go to the meeting, and come home and start my break.

Wednesday, I’ll make sure the house is cleaned up and start cooking. Thursday, my in-laws are coming over. Jeff has been trying really hard to find something to buy on Friday morning, so he might do some Black Friday shopping in the morning while I sleep. Friday late morning/afternoon we’ll have soup and stuff with Jeremy and Karin and Cara and Gus and play games and do fun stuff with them. Then Saturday after they leave I’m going to make the hour and 20 minute drive to my friend Marla’s house, who just had a baby.

No rest for the…. weary? wicked? Or is it no rest for the overscheduled? I admit, it’s all fun stuff, so I’m looking forward to it!

No menu this week- all I know for sure is that we’re having turkey, dressing, etc. on Thursday and soups and breads on Friday. And I’m pretty sure I have all the groceries for everything.

When we were unpacking the groceries and trying to squeeze more food into our cupboards, I couldn’t help but be truly thankful for everything that we have. We have so much food it won’t even fit into our cupboards and it’s sitting on the counter. Even though money is tight sometimes, we have everything we need and almost everything we even want. Praise to the Lord for all the blessings he gives us every day!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
