RSS

Camera/Camcorder question

04 Dec

Right now, I do not own a “good” camera. I use my phone to take pictures. It’s an 8mp camera, but I’m not so sure I always get the best pics I should. What do you use for a camera and to take video? Does anyone take video that they are easily able to get still shots from? I can also do video on my phone, and haven’t really experimented with it a whole lot.

So tell me; what do you use? Do you like it? Would you do the same thing if you could do it over again? (Kay and Christina, I’m especially asking you, but of course, other input is welcome!) 🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Camera/Camcorder question

  1. christina

    December 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    For video, we have a Flip HD, but since I got the iphone 4, I usually use that because it’s so much more convenient and easy to upload to YouTube. We have macs so we use iphoto and imovie to edit. Once I get the video into imovie it’s pretty easy to get a still shot, but sometimes it’s a hassle to get it to that point. I’m sure there’s other software out there that would let you do that though. Maybe Chris can chime in…

    For a point-and-shoot, we have a Panasonic Lumix (which has a really great zoom), but last year Chris got me a DSLR (Cannon Rebel) for Christmas, so I mostly use that now. It’s a little more cumbersome and doesn’t fit in my purse, but I feel like the quality of the pictures is so much better that it’s worth it (especially in low light). I just need to learn more about the features so I can venture out of automatic mode more often. I know it has the capability to take video but I honestly haven’t tried it yet.
    I also use my iphone for pictures quite a bit because it’s the only thing I have handy when Gabriel is doing something really cute or naughty. The quality is generally good outside and indoors when it’s well-lit.

     
  2. Kay

    December 5, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    It is so interesting that you ask this because I just got a new camera yesterday! Our “old” camera is a silver Sony Cybershot. It has one major flaw: I can’t take clear pictures in low light. They all turn out fuzzy, even if it’s just a dim room in the middle of the day. We literally have to have a very-well lit room or be outdoors for the pictures to be reliable. I have looked this up online, and other people have the same trouble. Other than that, it takes great video, and all of the features of the camera are easy to use. There is a limit of something like 7 minutes of video time on our memory card, but normally I only take about 1 minute at a time anyway and then just transfer it to our computer before the camera gets full. The “new” camera that I am trying out and deciding whether to return is some version of the Kodak EasyShare. I have tried taking pictures in low light, and some turn out good, but some don’t. I’m not sure if it’s worth $80 to “maybe” get a good shot, versus no extra money to definitely not get a good shot.
    You might notice on our blog there are rarely pictures of our tv room because when the blinds are shut, the pictures are usually fuzzy. Unfortunately, that’s where we hang out in the evening, and the kids do cute stuff sometimes. The pictures outdoors and in our front room and kitchen are usually great because these areas are well-lit.

     
  3. Kay

    December 5, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    ps-Our Sony does fit nicely into my back pocket, which I love. (The Kodak does, too, since fitting into my pocket is now a requirement for my cameras.) Also, I have dropped my Sony onto concrete and other surfaces numerous times in the past 3 1/2 years since we’ve had it, and it just keeps on working. We didn’t notice the low light issue in the first year or so we had the camera, so maybe the dropping did affect it, I guess. Otherwise, good camera.

     
  4. Kay

    December 6, 2010 at 8:35 am

    pps-Our Sony is a 7 mp camera, but I have it set to use only 5 mp. I can get more pictures on the memory card that way, and I think I can get pictures on the blog easier because they take up less space, but I’m not sure about that.

     
  5. Gina

    December 6, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    We have a flip video, too. We really like it because it’s simple, and easy to put on the computer. You don’t have to worry about keeping track of a cord, because the jack-think is attached! : )

     
  6. christina

    December 6, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Kay – do you guys still have a video camera that takes those mini-cds? I thought I remembered you having one.

     
    • Kay

      December 7, 2010 at 6:39 am

      No, we have a video camera that uses mini tapes. We haven’t used it since June. We would use it on birthdays probably still, or to tape anything that’s a little longer.

       
  7. christina

    December 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    We also have our old Flip (not HD) that we aren’t using anymore. If you’re interested, we could work something out. 🙂

     
  8. jeffandmary

    December 19, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Thanks for your feedback, everyone! I’m growing more and more frustrated with my camera on the phone, so we’ll see… I hate to spend the money on a camera I wouldn’t use that much, so I’ll probably wait until we’re having kids to get whatever the newest technology/most reasonably priced thing is. I’ve heard good things about the flip HD.

     

Leave a Reply

 
