RSS

Crazy Snow Days

19 Jan

It’s been a crazy few weeks of school around here. Last week, we had two snow days, Monday and Tuesday. This week, we had no school Monday because of MLK Day, and then had an ice day Tuesday. We were back to school today, but it has already been called off for tomorrow. Will we have school on Friday? I’m doubtful. Maybe only one day of school this week- nice!

I had eight miniature meteorologists in my classroom today. Every three minutes or so, one of them would call out “It’s not snowing yet!” and then they would get into a “discussion” about when the snow was due to begin and how much is predicted to accumulate. The biggest argument was between one student who said that they predicted 5-9 inches and another who said they predicted 6-8. I tried to get them to see they really were nearly the same, but they were both too hard-headed to give in. I’ve never been so tempted to block my windows!

The snowflakes began to fall around 1:30 or so. We’d already done a bunch of snow activities last week, so I was fresh out of ideas to let them funnel their excitement into their work. I gave up about at about 3:05. Parents started coming to get their kids early, the rest were only looking out the windows, so I finally just said, “All of your homework is due the day we get back to school. You can do it now, or you can stare out the window. But if someone near you is trying to work, don’t bother them.” Of course, out of the ones that were still there, they all chose to stare out the window.

As soon as all my kiddos were gone today, I cleaned off my car and left. School dismisses at 3:30, and I was on the road by about 3:45. I got home at 6:05. It usually takes me 30 minutes to go the 25 miles between school and my house. Today, two hours and twenty minutes. It was one of my least-fun drives home in recent memory ever. When I got home, I opened a bottle of wine and sat with my legs stretched out.

I’m planning on using tomorrow to get caught up on school stuff and do just a few things around the house. If we end up being off on Friday, that will be my “clean the house” day.

Growing up in Minnesota, I’m just not used to this “two days off for 6 inches of snow” thing. I was OK with it at first, but now we’re getting into the realm of having to make up days, and I DON’T want to do that. However, I enjoy the random days off and chance to work around the house more. I’ll post some pictures of the winter wonderland tomorrow.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Crazy Snow Days

  1. christina

    January 23, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    Sounds like some of the conversation around my office at work when the weather prediction is bad. There’s something about it that makes people unable to focus.

     

Leave a Reply

 
