RSS

Organization

22 Jan
image

Aren't these the prettiest file folders you've ever seen?

I’ve been trying really hard to get a good organization system going at our house. We have a lot of clutter for just the two of us, and neither of us are naturally organized people. I tend to drop my stuff wherever I feel like it when I get home and deal with it later. We put the mail wherever we feel like it, etc.

One of the things I’ve done is dumped a few of our kitchen drawers- the ones that get the most cluttery and I find myself shoving closed- into boxes. After we use something from the box, we clean it and put it away in the drawer. Whatever we haven’t used in a month goes in a garage sale box. I’ll look through the box to make sure there aren’t things that we normally used that we just didn’t, but I’m determined to get rid of stuff. I also have a “garage sale box” in our dining room that I add to quite often to get rid of stuff we don’t use.

I bought a pretty canister to go on my counter top to put the frequently-used utensils in, spatulas, etc. I used a gift card to Crate and Barrel for that from last year’s teacher appreciation. I knew I was saving it for something special, and when I got there and shopped around, I knew that’s what I was waiting for!

Because of my profession, I need to keep receipts, especially if I bought something for school or a housing expense. I found gorgeous file folders at an office supply store. I like the folders enough that they can stay on my counter all the time, by where I keep my frequently-used cookbooks. That way, instead of a pile of paper on the counter waiting for me, I can pop them right into the correct file folders. It’s much more fun to use them when they are pretty. The best part- I had a gift certificate, and a coupon, so I bought a few things I needed for school and only had to spend a few bucks of my own.

The biggest challenge to this whole getting-organized thing has been trying to get Jeff to buy into it. But, it will all get there eventually.

I found this blog over Christmas break, and it has really been inspiring me to get our house in shape. I love the author’s style, and she has really great ideas. Let me know what you think if you check her out!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Organization

  1. Holly

    January 22, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    That is a cool blog. I always try to be organized too. It usually never lasts more than a couple of days. I like the folders.

     
  2. Christopher

    January 22, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    I try to keep my office organized but my coworkers fight it. This month’s stab at it was spending $100 at IKEA on stuff to put stuff in. Now we’re tripping over each other and $100 worth of IKEA.

     
  3. Kay

    January 23, 2011 at 8:37 am

    I love those file folders. My first thought was, “How expensive were they?” But then when you said you got a deal on them, they look even better to me! That blog is neat, too.

     
  4. Kay

    January 23, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Also, that is a really good idea to dump a drawer into a box and then take stuff out of the box as you use it. It really shows you what you use and what you don’t.

     
  5. christina

    January 23, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Those are some really great ideas. And I LOVE the file folders. In fact, I think I NEED TO HAVE THEM. I think that blog looks interesting. I’m going to add it to my feed reader.

     
    • jeffandmary

      January 23, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      I got the file folders at Office Max. I think they were around $7.5o for 12, so they definitely weren’t cheap, but, with a gift card I figured I could splurge a little bit. Also, the plain pretty color ones were more expensive, so I felt justified.

       
  6. Gina

    January 27, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I like to be organized, but Jon struggles with it. When we were first married, we bought him a decorative box to put all of his junk…er, I mean, treasures in. Then, it grew to the box, and the corner of the room the box was in. Then, the corner of the room, and the whole length of the wall. Then, eventually the whole room became his. Now that we move fairly frequently, he’s gotten better. (He’s down to a closet and the box). It’s just a hassle to pack up 100 little slips of paper, loose shoestrings and torn up fabric that he’s “going to use sometime.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
